Online Guide to the Tarot

Meanings of the Cards

The Tarot is more than a simple pack of cards. The pack itself comprises 78 cards which combine to form the 'arcana' - symbolic representations of ancient wisdom. These are divided into The Major and the Minor Arcana. The Major Arcana comprises 22 “trump” cards covering pretty much all aspects of human experience (and quite a bit of divine stuff too). The 56 'Minor' cards are split into the four elemental suits of Earth, Water, Fire and Air. Though these Suits have a variety of names, depending upon which deck you happen to be looking at, we stick here with those names accorded them in the Thoth Tarot deck, whose images you see across the site. 

The Empress

The Empress is numbered three and symbolises one half of a perfect polarity - the Emperor being the other side of the balance. From the purity of the High Priestess we move naturally onwards to the Empress' sense of bounty and fertility. She represents the Mother Goddess, fulfilling her part in the eternal cycle of creation.

The Empress holds the power to steadily and determinedly rebuild, renew, nurture and nourish. She has an unquenchable and generous courage, responding instantly when she sees a need to defend. Her realm is built of love, fertility and warmth. When the Empress holds us we are once again in the sure safety of the infant at its mother's breast.

She also represents unconditional love - making no demands and setting no conditions. If we allow her love to flow through us then we too can become a pure spring through which the Universe flows. Only our fears stand between us and the Goddess.

The Empress

Contact US

Thank you - your message has been sent

Send all correspondence to:


Postal Address: Angel Paths
1 Pen Y Pound Court


07946 534267 (9am to 5pm UK time)

Social Media

Find Angel Paths on Facebook and become part of the fast growing community.

Free Angel Paths e-Zine